places Facebook Launches Facebook Places in Singapore

Facebook today announced the launch of Facebook Places in Singapore. Already available in some countries, Facebook Places allows you to “check-in” and share with your friends where you are and who you’re with, find friends who are nearby and discover new places your friends like – all in real time.

image001 Facebook Launches Facebook Places in Singapore

Ever felt the need to keep tabs on where your real-life friends on Facebook are currently at so that you might be able to know if they happen to be in the very same location you are currently at? If you do, an announcement made by the world's most popular online social networking service would probably  be the news that is guaranteed to put a smile on your face.

Apparently,  Facebook has just announced the launch of Facebook Places in Singapore. For those who are unaware, Facebook Places is a service which allows users to “check-in” and share your location with friends in real time.

places Facebook Launches Facebook Places in Singapore

Facebook Places is available to users in Singapore with mobile access to the Facebook application for iPhone, Android, Blackberry, HP webOS, and Windows Phone 7, or to touch.facebook.com. When you use Places, you'll be able to see if any of your friends are currently checked in nearby and connect with them easily. You can also check into nearby Places to tell your friends where you are, tag your friends in the Places you visit together, and view comments your friends have made about the Places you visit.  

How to use Facebook Places?

  1. Go to the “Places” icon within the Facebook mobile applications or touch.facebook.com, then tap the “Check In” button, which will pull up a list of places near you.
  2. Choose the place that matches where you are. If there isn’t one already in the list, users can search for it or create a new one.
  3. Tap the “Check in” button to share that you are at the place. Users can also add comments and tag friends.  

With Places, users are in control of what they share and with whom they share. They choose whether or not to share their location when they check in at a place, and only friends can see when they do, unless users choose to set their privacy setting otherwise. When users check in, they can tag friends who are with them but only if their settings allow it. When they are tagged, they are always notified.