The Facebook-owned website has given itself the right to sell photos without notifying users, and there is only one way to opt out: delete your account before 16 January.
The updated terms include: “To help us deliver interesting paid or sponsored content or promotions, you agree that a business may pay us to display your username, likeness, photos, in connection with paid or sponsored content or promotions, without any compensation to you.”
Photos will still belong to users and other privacy restrictions will remain in place, but advertisers will be able to use people's photos to effectively recommend a product without the person even knowing they are making the recommendation.
Facebook bought Instagram in April for $1 billion, and while Facebook has frequently made headlines for its privacy issues, this is likely to be one of its biggest PR headaches to date.
Already social media has been flooded with complaints about the change, including numerous threats to quit the website. The lack of a proper opt-out will be a particular focus of criticism, and if the changes go ahead as planned, then the service will certainly lose users by the mid-January deadline.