latest da14 shoulder 673 NASA to show live event of asteroid flyby

NASA will broadcast live footage and commentary on the asteroid that will fly close to Earth tomorrow (Friday), documenting its passage by the planet.

NASA will broadcast live footage and commentary on the asteroid that will fly close to Earth tomorrow (Friday), documenting its passage by the planet.

 
The asteroid, dubbed 2012 DA14, will be just 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) away at its closest point at 2:25pm EST (7:25pm GMT, 11:25am PST), and NASA will begin its half-hour broadcast at 2pm EST (7pm GMT, 11am PST), this Friday, 15 February.
 
The live stream comes from NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California, with additional real-time footage of the asteroid from astronomers in Australia and Europe, providing the weather is favourable.
 
latest da14 shoulder 673 NASA to show live event of asteroid flyby
 
Video of the asteroid will be available for several hours on Ustream after the main event, starting from noon EST (5pm GMT, 9pm PST). 
 
NASA will also be hosting a Ustream from its Marshall Space Flight Centre in Huntsville, Alabama, running for three hours from 9pm EST (2am GMT, 6am PST). Users will be able to ask questions about the asteroid flyby during this broadcast.
 
NASA runs the Near Earth Objects Program in Washington, which searches for, studies, and monitors asteroids and comets which periodically come close to Earth. The long-term goal is to explore these space rocks, which contain large amounts of natural resources, and to mitigate the potential of impacts with our planet, such as the Apophis asteroid that astronomers believe could hit the Earth in 2036.
 
Image Credit: NASA